Sunday: First or last day of the week?


this is a very rough sketch of how i view the ...
Image via Wikipedia

Isn’t it so that the Bible says God created our “world” in 6 days, and on the seventh day he rested?

I would suppose these seven “days” explain, at least in part, that our  week has seven days.

Why is it then  that by definition Sunday then is considered the first day of the week? Actually, I remember that my priest (Lutheran) that examined me in our rehearsal for our confirmation-service – M A N Y years ago, even asked me this question: What is the first day of the week…?… And I wrongly answered Monday…

However, my working week starts with Monday. And Sunday is part  of the week-END. Right?

I know that Jews and Muslims have different resting days and weekends. Yes. But I find it interesting to notice here, how reality and theory really differs.

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

